How to participate in the Laurie Dake Challenge

Universities are invited to participate in the Laurie Dake Challenge with a multidisciplinary team of 3 to 5 students (one PhD student per team allowed). The competition includes three selection rounds that are further explained below.There’s more valuable guidance in an article published in the October 2017 issue of First Break (pp. 12).

To enter the competition each team is required to submit an assignment on a certain topic.

We are looking forward to the third edition of the Laurie Dake Challenge!









All universities are invited to participated in this competition, details we be published soon and the time frame of the competition is described below:

Item   Deadline
Application  and submission first assignment  13 October  to 21 December 2019
 Semi-Finalist selection 06th February 2020
Second Round Submission 5th April 2020
 Finalist announcement ( 6 teams selected to present the final ) by 30 th May 2020
 Final presentation slides submission  TBD
 Final Development plan presentation  07th December 2020
 Announcement of the winner  08th December 2020
Selection round 1.Exploration data set assignment

Every team that applies will receive a data set, which is sponsored by Shell, to work with. They will have the opportunity to analyze and interpret  an exploration data set of a discovered hydrocarbon resource.

The first assignment should be submitted by 21 December 2019. 

In this first round, the best ten teams will be selected for the next round of selection.

Please complete the submission  of the assignment and if you have any further question do not  hesitate to contact Rosmery Gonzalez.

Selection round 2. Assignment submission

The 13 still standing teams are required to start working with the data they received and; pitch your development plans in a 3-minute video.

Instituto Mexicano del Petroleo
Curtin University
Bahria University Karachi Campus
Universitas Brawijaya
Institut Teknologi Bandung (team 1)
The University of Manchester
Lomonosov Moscow State University
University Technology PETRONAS (team 1)
University Technology PETRONAS (team 2)
University of Stavanger
Institut Teknologi Bandung (team 2)
Ain Shams University

To select the best 6 teams that we will invite to the finals on Sunday 7 December, the judges have decided to organize an interim review:

The video should be submitted  no later than Monday 6 April (12:00 UTC +1).

The pitch interim review will result in the selection of the 6 finalist teams that will receive the registration fee waiver and financial support for travelling to 82nd EAGE Conference & Exhibition 2020!

Requirements of the video:

- Acceptable quality visual and sound Landscape orientation

- The duration of the video should NOT be longer than 3 minutes

Remember that you pitch your field development plan to SHELL Company!

Based on the submission, the Laurie Dake Challenge jury will select the six finalist teams that will be invited to present their final

Submit your second assignment



Selection round 3. Presentations during EAGE Conference & Exhibition (finals)

Teams selected in the Final round :

EAGE invites team members of the six finalist university teams to present their findings to an expert Laurie Dake Challenge jury.. The presentations will be judged by 8 to 10 jury members, all with their own expertise.

All finalist teams are required to submit their Laurie Dake Challenge Development plans and the presentations a few weeks before the finals. The Laurie Dake  development plans must include the following:

• Well log analysis
• Structural model
• Identified flow units
• Static reservoir model property modelling
• Dynamic reservoir model
• Forward (appraisal and) development plan

Announcements for current participating teams


EAGE Laurie Dake Challenge

We are pleased to announce  the selection of the six best  teams out of the 13 selected in the previous round. The six finalists were selected based on an interim review, where teams were required to record a pitch for their development plans. The remaining candidates will receive an invitation to present their findings to a jury panel from academia and the oil and gas sector. The six teams moving on the next stage of the competition are:

University of Stavanger, Norway;

Universiti Teknologi PETRONAS, Malaysia;

Mexican Institute of Petroleum, Mexico

IFP School, France;

Curtin University, Australia;

Bandung Institute of Technology, Indonesia;

Laurie Dake Challenge finalists will present their findings to an expert jury, after months of working on a dataset (provided by SHELL) of a discovered hydrocarbon resource. Universities and industry are invited to attend the presentations and witness the competition between the most excellent multi-disciplinary student teams on a global scale.


The winning team of the Laurie Dake Field Challenge will receive a trophy during the Amsterdam 2020