Gustavo Sclocchi Award

The Gustavo Sclocchi Award is a corporation between EAGE,  SPE (Society of Petroleum Engineers – Italian Section) and Assomineraria (Italian Petroleum and Mining Industry Association – Hydrocarbon and Geothermal Resources Sector).

The awards are for the best theses in geosciences and petroleum engineering presented by any university and diploma graduates, and  Ph.D students from Italian universities as well as by  Italian nationals graduated abroad. The awards started in 1993 and since 2001 have been associated with the late Gustavo Sclocchi, an Eni manager, who was the main promoter of the event and this year reached the 25th edition. Over the last 23 years 615 theses have been submitted out of which 136 have won awards. A list of the current  year winners of the Gustavo Sclocchi Award is available here.  

In order to encourage and reward university graduates, the SPE , EAGE and Assomineraria are pleased to announce the 25th Thesis Award. 

All university graduates from Italian universities and Italian nationals graduated abroad, who will complete their studies or research in the period from November 1st 2016 to October 31st 2017, are entitled to submit their published thesis for the award.

 The theses must cover subjects related to Hydrocarbon (from fossil sources and biomasses) and Geothermal Exploration & Production activities: 

Geology, Geophysics and Formation Evaluation
Drilling and Completion
Reservoir Engineering
Production, Transport and Hydrocarbon Upgrading (Midstream Technologies)
Health, Safety, Environment and Carbon Management
Energy Economics

The instructions for participation in the contest are reported here and in  SPE  Italian Section.  Candidates must comply with the following deadlines: 

Contact Information and Abstract – deadline October 31rd, 2017
Complete electronic copy of the thesis – deadline November 5th, 2017
Graduation Certificate – before the Award Ceremony

Any questions can be addressed to: The Evaluation Committee shall select the theses considered to be the most worthy of receiving the Award. Its decision is final and is not subject to appeal.

The manuscripts will be subdivided, judged and awarded according to the following four categories:

(a) 2nd Level Master Reports
(b) Bachelor of Science (Laurea di I livello) theses
(c) Master of Science (Laurea Magistrale) theses
(d) Doctor of Philosophy (Dottorato di Ricerca) theses

The prize for categories (a) and (b) will be 1,200€ (twelve hundred Euros) and a plaque. The prize for each winning thesis belonging to categories (c) and (d) will be 2,400€ (twenty four hundred Euros) and a plaque. The award for the running-up theses will consist in a “special mention” plague. Moreover, a reference of each award-winning thesis will be published in the «SPE Bulletin» of the Italian Section, in the «EAGE First Break» journal and in the «Assomin Bulletin».No more than two (2) money prizes for categories (a) and (b) will be awarded. No more than three (3) money prizes for categories (c) and (d) will be awarded The Evaluation Committee will select the number of the money prizes, among classes (a/b) and (c/d), according to the number of received manuscripts per class and the results of the evaluation process. The number of special mention awards for all categories will be similarly decided, with a maximum of six (6).

The Award ceremony will take place on December 2017 in San Donato Milanese (Italy) and winners will be asked to deliver a short presentation of their thesis work. Winners will be notified in due time of the date and venue of the ceremony and of the presentation guidelines.