Gustavo Sclocchi Award

The Gustavo Sclocchi Award is a corporation between EAGE,  SPE(Society of Petroleum Engineers – Italian Section) and Assomineraria (Italian Petroleum and Mining Industry Association – Hydrocarbon and Geothermal Resources Sector).

The awards are for the best theses in geosciences and petroleum engineering presented by any university and diploma graduates, and  Ph.D students from Italian universities as well as by  Italian nationals graduated abroad. The awards started in 1993 and since 2001 have been associated with the late Gustavo Sclocchi, an Eni manager, who was the main promoter of the event and this year reached the 27th edition. Over the last 25 years 641 theses have been submitted out of which 138 have won awards. A list of the current  year winners of the Gustavo Sclocchi Award is available here.  

In order to encourage and reward university graduates, the SPE , EAGE and Assomineraria are pleased to announce the 27th Thesis Award. 

All university graduates from Italian universities and Italian nationals graduated abroad, who will complete their studies or research in the period from November 1st 2018 to December 31st 2019, are entitled to submit their published thesis for the award.

 The theses must cover subjects related to Hydrocarbon (from fossil sources and biomasses) and Geothermal Exploration & Production activities: 

Geology, Geophysics and Formation Evaluation

Exploration, Production and Transport of Hydrocarbons (including LNG)

  Health, Safety, Environment and Carbon Management and Neutrality

Renewable Sources and Energy transition

Green Refinery Feedstocks

Energy Economics & Management

The instructions for participation in the contest are reported here and in SPE  Italian Section.  Candidates must comply with the following deadlines: 

Contact Information and Abstract – deadline December 31rd, 2019
Complete electronic copy of the thesis – deadline January 31st, 2020
Graduation Certificate – before the Award Ceremony in March 2020

Any questions can be addressed to: The Evaluation Committee shall select the theses considered to be the most worthy of receiving the Award. Its decision is final and is not subject to appeal.

The manuscripts will be subdivided, judged and awarded according to the following four categories:

A. Master of Science (Laurea Magistrale) and Doctor of Philosophy (Dottorato di Ricerca)
B. 2nd Level Master and Bachelor of Science (Laurea di I livello)

A maximum of three prizes for category A, two prizes for category B, and six special mentions will be awarded. The prize for each thesis awarded under category A will be 2400€ (twenty-four hundred Euros) and a plaque. The prize for  each thesis awarded under category B will be 1200€ (twelve hundred Euros) and a plaque. Optional awards for running- up theses will consist of a “special mention” plaque. Reference to award-winning theses will be published in the «SPE Bulletin» of the Italian Section, in the «EAGE First Break» journal, and on

The Award ceremony will take place in the “Aula Magna” of Politecnico di Milano (Piazza Leonardo da Vinci) and the winners of categories A and B will deliver a short presentation of their theses. Winners will be notified in due time of the date of the ceremony and of the presentation guidelines.